Happy New Year! – Chocolate Coconut Rough Slice

January 1st 2012 has finally arrived bringing *fingers crossed* much joy and many more happy memories. Hopefully everyone had a fun-filled night – me personally – I spent new years on facebook, youtube and food blogs then went to bed at 10:30 – party animal right here.

I spent my new years day (not the whole thing, but some time) baking – what else would I be doing. I had leftover condensed milk, so I needed something to get rid of it with,so, chocolate coconut rough slice was the answer.

Now, I have a habbit, especially on this blog of over-emphasising how good something tastes. That’s probably because everything really does taste quite good. However, I simply cannot emphasise enough, how good this slice was/is. I was trying to think of any possible way to fully explain to you all how incredible this is, the only way I could think of was to expose myself in eating three quarters of it just today (thank God I halved the recipe to begin with).

Yes it was rediculously good, I must admit. It was worth feeling quite sick for a few hours afterwards.

I must warn you – it’s probably not for the faint hearted. If you’re not a huge fan of chocolate – as in, a chewy gritty crunchy mound of chocolate caking your mouth with each bite, maybe try something different – but if you do, you’ve found your match! So I’m going to share the recipe with you all now and you can try it for yourself – and once again, a very happy new year to all!

Chocolate Coconut Rough Slice (from The Australian Women’s Weekly cookbook, Macaroons & Biscuits)

Base 50g Self-raising flour, 50g plain flour, 2tbs cocoa powder, 50g desiccated coconut, 165g firmly packed light brown sugar, 90g unsalted butter (melted), 250g milk chocolate, melted. Filling 240g icing sugar, 120g desiccated coconut, 2tbs cocoa powder, 160ml condensed milk, 75g unsalted butter (melted), 1tsp vanilla extract.

1. Preheat oven to 180 degress celcius (350F). Grease 20cmx30cm rectangular pan and line base and sides with baking paper.

2. Combine flours, cocoa, coconut, sugar and butter in a medium bowl. Press mixture evenly in base of pan. Bake for around 20 minutes, then cool for 15 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, make coconut rough filling. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl.

4. Spead the filling evenly over the warm base, and top with melted chocolate. Refrigerate for 2 hours or untill firm.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! – Chocolate Coconut Rough Slice

  1. Yummo, that looks absolutely delicious… It wouldn’t last long in our house 🙂

  2. Lucy says:

    This looks so indulgent and delicious! What a way to welcome 2012 🙂

Leave a Reply

